Stephanie Ijeoma Ibewuihe
4 min readFeb 20, 2024

On The Wings Of Gratitude

My experience will be ethereal.

Cc: Cleangirlhacks

With each moment that passes by, I see —or rather, encounter many more reasons as to why I should be immensely grateful and bask in gratitude. These pointers and signs are subtle but of utmost significance.

When I go out, which I don't do quite often, I take a good look at things my eyes and ears can highlight.

From Pam Grout's Book, "Thank and Grow Rich"

The shimmer of the clouds in the sky, the wind whispering sweet nothings, the squawking of pigeons and kites, and even the sound of cars wheezing by hits differently when you’re conscious.

If I'm lucky, I'll get to feel things like the soft stalk of a flower, the rough surface of a wall, and even the wind beneath my fingertips.
Highlighting all these makes you feel different and strangely happy. When I first learned that gratitude wipes negativity, I thought meh, these peeps are capping. But in all honesty, gratitude is more like therapy for me. I'm talking brazen gratitude, gratitude wey no limit.

Now even without trying, I have stumbled upon authors like Gabrielle Bernstein and Pam Grout who help me acknowledge that I can do it incessantly even without trying. I think I like this way of life and I don't want the vicissitudes of life to consume me in such a way that I forget to be grateful even when things look bleak or out-of-order.

Intentionally Being More Fun

Me and my nri

I accessed myself and I have come to realise that I am a boring person. Yes, I’m not ashamed to say that. I would prefer to stay indoors than go outside most of the time. I enjoy looking homeless (in my house oh) and sleeping is my healing practice.
I thought something was wrong with me when others delighted in gossip while I stuck my nose deep in a publication or read up about people or places on Wikipedia. While all of these are not bad, I cannot help but think it’s my persona and I can only tweak in changes so I don’t let this world pass me by.

Banking In Nigeria

Ecobank at Wetheral Road

I don't think I'll ever stop talking about things that concern banking in Nigeria. Frankly, the thought of going to the bank makes my knees weak. I might still have trauma from that cashless period last year.

Dear Lord, I became a bank messenger that year in the house, leaving in the morning and returning in the evening.
Imagine my excitement learning I would accompany my younger brother to the bank to pay for his WAEC fees and obtain remittance.

I crossed my heart, fingers, mind, and everything within me to prepare for it because this country and shege are 5&6. The first day we left home for the bank, it was just no use because most banks declared they had no network.

Second day (I prayed this would be the last), we went again and there was no cash. Wow. At that moment, I felt like this system wanted the Point of Sales value to be truly significant.
The money I could have used to fix nails was what I paid the POS vendor to give me cash.
The receiving bank for the payment was Ecobank. There was a branch at Wetheral but it had been shut down due to reasons I couldn't fathom. Another branch was located at Bank Road so we walked to that area.

Okay, can I just say that Ecobank might just be one of the dilapidated banks in Nigeria?
It's like their buildings lack inspection and seem to appear archaic. It's not like they're for microfinance.
We stayed on the line for a while before a woman at the counter mentioned that there was no network.

“Go to the branch at Douglas Road”, she said.

Douglas Road, how much I dread that area.

You see, Douglas Road is just like the typical ghetto, street urchin area. I also term it; a place where thugs are disguised as street vendors. If you’re not careful, you could get robbed in broad daylight.
My brother and I marched downward to AmaHausa—the area where the Hausa tribe dominated in Owerri. They also served as dollar buyers and sellers as they stayed close to banks.
Trust Ecobank to be the last bank on the block. We got in and completed the payment. Mission accomplished 🥂.

It’s almost the middle of the week again and I am wishing you, my fabulous reader, an amazing one.

Thank you so much for reading! There’s a set of clapping hands at the left bottom of your screen, please leave 50 claps for me or more…Blessings💜